What’s expected in your weekly blog post?

With Genius Hour, there’s no curriculum for me to measure you against. There’s no quiz or test I can give you to check if you’ve learned what you set out to. Instead, you have to demonstrate your learning with your weekly blog post. There are two key elements I’d like you to cover: evidence of learning and reflection on learning.

Evidence

Give me some proof that you’ve been working. That evidence might take the form of photos or video. That evidence might be a copy of the email you sent to an expert. It might be a description of a conversation you had with an expert. Don’t be afraid to showcase your first attempts and your failures; they’ll help to make it obvious that you’ve learned and improved by the end.

Reflection

Think about what you’ve learned. Here are some possible sentence stems to include in your weekly post:

  • I was surprised…
  • … was harder than I expected.
  • … was easier than I expected.
  • Next time, I will…
  • If I were to do this again, I would…
  • My next steps will be…
  • I need to change…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *